In the Metro Area of Cagliari

The metropolitan city of Cagliari was established by the Regional Law 4 February 2016, n. 2 "Reform of the system of local self-government of Sardinia".

Metro city means the local authority specified in Article 114 of the Italian Constitution, which corresponds to the municipalities that have a close functional, territorial, social and economic connection with the capital city of Sardinia.

In addition to the municipality of Cagliari, the metro city includes the following municipalities: Assemini, Capoterra, Elmas, Monserrato, Quartu Sant'Elena, Quartucciu, Selargius, Sestu, Decimomannu, Maracalagonis, Pula, Sarroch, Settimo San Pietro, Sinnai, Villa San Pietro, Uta. Cagliari industrial area (agglomerations of Macchiareddu, >Elmas and Sarroch) stretches over the territory of some (Assemini, Cagliari, Capoterra, Elmas, Sestu, Sarroch and Uta) of these municipalities.

Are attributed to the metro city , in addition to the basic functions specific to it, the functions of the Cagliari Province for its own territory, established by Regional Law 2/2016 or other regional laws, those functions attributed to unions of municipalities and those ones that may be conferred by the municipalities belonging to the metro city.